I suggest you ...

Option in [InstallDelete] to postpone deletion (or to Move instead of delete)

When installing an update I like to sequester the old version (can do), and after that would like, for neatness, to delete any old version files that aren't replaced by or part of the new version (don't see how at present).

1 vote
Vote
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    I agree to the terms of service
    Signed in as (Sign out)
    You have left! (?) (thinking…)
    AnonymousAnonymous shared this idea  ·   ·  Admin →

    2 comments

    Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      I agree to the terms of service
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • AnonymousAnonymous commented  · 

        By "postpone deletion" in the title, I mean a way to have the deletion of [InstallDelete] delayed until after a directive in [files] creates an archive copy. The documented (& actual) behavior of [InstallDelete] is that deletions happen before any copy directive in [files], hence the copy ends with nothing left to archive.

        Thanks for the advice about newsgroups. I have; no reply yet.

      • Deanna EarleyAdminDeanna Earley (Admin, Inno Setup) commented  · 

        Your title doesn't seem to match the question. [InstallDelete] answers the question. Also, it's best to discuss these queries in the newsgroups before posting here.

      Feedback and Knowledge Base